Business Cards

One of our assignments for this semester is to create business cards for ourselves using Adobe’s Photoshop. The first is supposed to be fun and creative while the second is what we would actually consider using in a professional setting. The main difference between the two business cards that I made is that my creative card has much brighter colors while my professional card is more monotone, with tan, black, brown, and white. I used the same fonts in both cards but changed the design on the front of the cards. I created the pattern on card 1 myself and took the patter on card 2 from here. You can find the logo I used on the second card here. There is no true reason as to why one is vertical and the other is horizontal other than it had to do with the formatting and what would fit which way. So without further ado, here are my business cards!

Business Card 2 Front_edited-1

This is the front of my creative business card (i.e. Card 1) I used a stamp within Photoshop to create the pattern in the background and the “A” is in Linden Hill

Business Card 2 Back_edited-2

This is the back of my creative card. My name is in League Script Thin, and the font I used below is Jacques Francois

This is the back of my professional business card. I used the same logo as the front. My name is, again, in League Script Thin and the text below it is in Jacques Francois.

This is the back of my professional business card. I used the same logo as the front. My name is, again, in League Script Thin and the text below it is in Jacques Francois.

This is the front of my professional business card. You can find the links where I found the background and where I created the logo in the paragraph above.

This is the front of my professional business card. You can find the links where I found the background and where I created the logo in the paragraph above.

REVISED BUSINESS CARDS:

So we presented and critiqued our business cards in class last week. While I liked the way my cards looked at the time, I’ve since found different fonts that I like more than the ones I used originally. Business Card 2 Front_edited-2

For my creative business card, I changed the font of the “A” on the front to “KG Somebody That I Used To Know” because I though it was more organic and simple than previously. 
Business Card 2 Back_edited-3

On the back, I also changed the font of my name and contact info at the bottom to “KG Somebody That I Used To Know.” The title below is now “Little Days.” Business Card 1 Front_edited-3

For my professional business card, I took the advice of my professor and filled in the background of the main logo so that it is separate from the background of the rest of the card.
Business Card 1 Back_edited-3On the back, I made the logo smaller and filled it in with white like I did with the front one. I kept the font that my name and contact info are in are the same but changed the title below to “Eight Fifteen.”

All the new fonts that I used can be found here.

We were also asked to critique one of our classmates business cards so I chose Site Seeing With Shannon. There really isn’t a whole lot to critique in her business cards. I love the simplicity of both (especially the way the pattern of the dress on the front of her creative card is also on the back and the gold dots on her professional card). If I were to change anything at all, it would be to not use the icons at the bottom with her contact information. Otherwise, I love the clarity and straightforwardness of both cards.

2 thoughts on “Business Cards

  1. Pingback: Infographic + Business Cards |

  2. Pingback: Drum Roll Please | Miss Communication

Leave a Reply

