Making it Me

Every writer has a voice. Every voice is unique to it’s writer. The way a writer conveys his or her voice completely controls the readers impressions of their work. My goal by the end of this post is to be able to explain what my voice is. I mentioned in my previous post, Deconstruct to Reconstruct, that I don’t entirely know what my style is yet, but the first step to figuring that out is to try and define my voice. Through a combination of my voice, personal characteristics, and inspiration from a fellow blogger, hopefully I’ll come one step closer to finding my style.

First, here’s a list defining what I want my voice and speaking style to be:

  • Straightforward
  • Honest
  • Sarcastic
  • Witty
  • Relatable

Next, a list of my personal traits that I find most important:

  • Honesty
  • Determination
  • Confidence
  • Respect
  • Reliability

Based on these lists, I’d say that the voice I’m leaning toward is definitely an honest one. Reliability and Straightforwardness are two things that I have had a hard time finding in other types of media, both print and digital. So for that reason, my voice will be honest, straightforward and reliable. This means that I will give my full opinion, that I will stop writing what I think readers want to hear and that I will not beat around the bush; that I will get straight to the point with as much accuracy as possible.

Part of this assignment from my Digital Communications professor is also to find a blogger that I admire and explain why I admire their voice. One of my favorite blogs is The Everygirl not only for her voice but also for her ability to change that voice depending on the topic she is covering.

Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 11.59.07 PM

In particular, Laicie Heeley’s  “In The Know” posts are straightforward and to the point. While they are not the most exciting or “decorated” posts that the site has to offer, they provide an extensive amount of information about things that are going on around the country, the world, in technology, in health, and in many other categories. Among other categories, The Everygirl also has posts on Health, Travel, Career and Finance, and even Current Culture.

Screen Shot 2014-09-25 at 12.00.36 AM

One of my personal favorite posts from the Culture category is Dating Advice from TV’s Leading Ladies. Not only does columnist Lyndsay Rush do an amazing job of using her own voice and personal experiences to relate to her readers, but the post is fun and entertaining as well.

So I’m still not entirely sure of what my blog’s style is or what my writer’s voice is yet. Honestly, I think that’s okay. As I continue posting, hopefully I’ll get the hang of it! The last thing I want to do before I finish this post is tell you a quick story about myself that has greatly influenced the person I am today:

January 4, 2007 was not a fun day for me, my parents, or anyone in my life at the time. It was a Thursday, our second day back in 6th grade after Christmas break. I think the cafeteria felt bad for us, that we were stuck in school even though there was still a little bit of snow left outside, so that day they served “Breakfast for Lunch” which entailed lots of sweet syrupy pancakes and waffles.

It wasn’t until I got home at the end of the day that things started to go down hill. I offhandedly mentioned to my dad that my hands were itchy, which I thought was no big deal at all. He, however, didn’t. Did I mention my dad was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes when he was in 6th grade? With just the prick of a finger, we were on our way to the hospital. What I didn’t realize is that over the past few months, I had begun to show symptoms of Type 1 too. I lost 20 pounds and was going to the bathroom almost every 45 minutes like clock work. It wasn’t normal.

The next few hours of that day are pretty blurry to me. I met more doctors in that one day than I had ever before. It wasn’t until 2:34 am that I was finally alone. The nurses had just left, though they’d be back in 45 minutes to check my blood sugar which was still working its way down. My mom was asleep on the chair at the end of my surprisingly comfortable hospital bed. I remember exactly what time is was because as soon as I closed my pink motorola razor, the flood gates opened. I tried to stifle my sobs with my pillow but I’m sure my mom heard me.

The only thought I can remember having that night was “why me?” I couldn’t understand why I something as terrible as this would happen to me. I wasn’t a bad person, I got good grades, I was polite to adults. So why did something as terrible as this happen to me?

Screen Shot 2014-09-25 at 9.43.43 AM

This is a picture of my dad and me (and Lovey, my stuffed bear) from my Preschool “graduation.”

It’s been almost 7 years since I was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. What I realize now that I didn’t realize then is that, from the day I was conceived, I was always going to have Type 1 Diabetes. Realizing that it wasn’t because of something I did or didn’t do was a eye-opening moment for me. It was the first time I was able to separate my emotional processing from rational processing. I like to believe that today, I am a fairly level headed person and that I can make decisions based on fact versus emotion. Although it was and continues to be the most difficult part of my life, being Type 1 is something that has made me a strong, more independent person, and I would change that experience for the world.

One thought on “Making it Me

  1. Pingback: Deconstruct to Reconstruct | Miss Communication

Leave a Reply

